Standards

I was always known as the quiet girl who never made a move to speak up about anything, but rather stay in the background and let things happen. Some people would say that I let people walk over me, and had no back bone. My back bone was there, but maybe just a tad bit faint. I never have been one to speak up if something is wrong. I am my fathers daughter. But lately things have been happening, that I realize my back bone needs to come out in full force. I have my standards, but they need to be raised. Not to an extent where nobody feels comfortable being around me, but to let people know that they can’t treat me any way they want and it’s okay. It’s not okay. It has taken a lot of sleepless nights tossing and turning, a few tears shed, books read, to realize I am a beautiful person, who deserves what this world has to offer, and I don’t need to settle for anything less. Maybe I am to blame a bit for allowing this to happen, but I can’t take full responsibility. It’s frustrating when you hear that women need to be quite, and not make a peep. And if we speak up about our beauty, intelligence etc we are high maintenance. Clearly there is a difference, and so what if we require a little more attention. We are daughters of a King, and if he loved us enough to die for us, I don’t think it’s asking too much for a little more respect on the male species part. Don’t settle for anything less than you deserve!

 

You are beautiful. You are loved. You are enough.

Leave a Reply

